Once again, the OBAs will be sanctioned by the BJCP and Paul Dickey will be providing certified judges. These are the same judges used in assessing the Canadian Brewing Awards.  Judging will be placed in groups of 3 and will be focused on specific styles and flights.  Judging of each beer is based on the OBA style guideline.  This year, the entire flight will be delivered at once, allowing the judges to compare objectively.

We now have 40 categories and are continuing with the following awards

  • Rookie of the Year
    • Awarded to a brewery who began brewing operations after May 1, 2016
    • Award based on highest score awarded
  • Beer of the Year
    • Awarded to the beer / brewer that has been judged to be Best in Show

OBA Style Guide 2018


Online Submissions open May 1st, 2018
Online Submissions open May 1st, 2018